Don 1$
1-855- JE FUGUE1-844-840-8519 info@fondationcedrika.org

Nouvelle / News / Noticias

Fugue as a social evil in Quebec

The runaway in numbers in Canada

This is a worrying phenomenon in Canada; In 2014, police received nearly 41,000 reports of missing children, of which 80% or four out of five were attributable to a runaway. We also note that 14-15 years are 44% of cases. In Quebec, there are 5700 cases, 14% of cases in Canada. The only comfort is that Quebec represents almost 25% of the Canadian population, but one case is one too many.
Police forces try to reassure parents with the statistics that 88% of runaways return during the week following the disappearance. There is a lot of talk about prostitution and street gangs when a girl, 77% of the runaway, is missing. At Fondation Cédrika Provencher (FCP), we are working on ways to make our solutions more interesting than street gangs. We are aware that a single child is coming out of a toxic family environment or fleeing a bullying environment. The street gang is protective, offers a lot of sense of belonging despite violent situations. A girl will fall into the easy and fast gratification of prostitution while boys, a group member who commits criminal acts or delinquents to prove his worth and keep himself in the clan.

Meaning of the fugue

The fugue does not happen without reason. There is something to decode there, a meaning to be found there, because it always sends a message. As long as this is not cleared up, the family will always be in danger of seeing the situation repeat itself.
The meaning conveyed by the fugue varies according to whether it is spontaneous or planned. Spontaneous or impulsive fugue occurs after an incident, a failure or an intense emotion, a triggering event. For the young, running away seems the only way to escape or avoid facing a situation perceived as difficult.

If the fugue is planned, the young person seeks a way of life that seems to promote self-realization, an aspiration towards emancipation. Fugue is a way to respond to unmet needs such as autonomy, freedom or experimentation. It can also be a way of expressing revolt or opposition to the authority of adults, or a request for help. It is also sometimes a way of escaping a situation considered as hopeless.

Useful resources to avoid running away

CAFE program (crisis-ado-family-child)

For information, contact the CLSC or Youth Center in your area, or call Info-Santé at 811.
[Gdlr_row]

CLSC of Center-de-la-Mauricie
1082 Sainte-Hélène Street
Shawinigan, Quebec
G9N 0E6
819-539-8371
[/ Gdlr_column]

CLSC Trois-Rivières (Saint-Joseph Center)
731 Sainte-Julie Street
Trois-Rivières (Quebec)
G9A 1Y1
819-370-2100 [/ gdlr_column]
[/ Gdlr_row]
[Gdlr_row]

Youth Protection Branch (DPJ) of Mauricie and Center-du-Québec
By phone: 1-800-567-8520
By e-mail: urgency.sociale@ssss.gouv.qc .ca

[/ Gdlr_column]

1-855- I FUGUE or (1-855-533-8483)
Free and anonymous line to leave a message to your loved ones. Tell us you are safe. No questions are asked [/ gdlr_column]
[/ Gdlr_row]

1-855- JE FUGUE1-844-840-8519 | (819) 840-8519 info@fondationcedrika.org

Nouvelle / News / Noticias

La fugue comme mal de société au Québec

La fugue en chiffres au Canada

C’est un phénomène préoccupant au Canada ; En 2014, les corps policiers ont reçus près de 41 000 signalements d’enfants portés disparus, dont 80% ou quatre cas sur cinq sont attribuables à une fugue. On remarque aussi que les 14-15 ans sont 44% des cas. Au Québec, ce sont 5700 cas, 14% des cas au Canada. Seul réconfort, le Québec représente presque 25% de la population canadienne mais un cas en est un de trop.

Les forces policières tentent de rassurer les parents avec la statistique que 88% des fugueurs reviennent pendant la semaine qui suit la disparition. On parle beaucoup de la prostitution et des gangs de rue lorsqu’une jeune fille, 77% des cas de fugue, manque à l’appel. A la Fondation Cédrika Provencher (FCP), nous travaillons sur les moyens de rendre nos solutions plus intéressantes que les gangs de rue. Nous sommes conscients qu’un enfant seul sortir de son environnement familial toxique ou de s’enfuir d’un milieu d’intimidation. Le gang de rue est protecteur, offre beaucoup le sentiment d’appartenance malgré des situation de violence. Une fille tombera dans la gratification facile et rapide de la prostitution alors que les garçons, membre du groupe qui commet des actes criminels ou délinquants pour prouver sa valeur et se maintenir dans le clan.

Signification de la fugue

La fugue n’arrive pas sans raison. Il y a quelque chose à y décoder, un sens à y trouver, car elle envoie toujours un message. Tant que celui-ci ne sera pas élucidé, la famille risquera toujours de voir la situation se répéter.

Le sens véhiculé par la fugue varie selon qu’elle est spontanée ou planifiée. La fugue spontanée ou impulsive survient après un incident, un échec ou une émotion intense, un événement déclencheur. Pour le jeune, la fugue semble la seule voie pour s’échapper ou éviter de faire face à une situation perçue comme difficile.

Si la fugue est planifiée, le jeune cherche un mode de vie qui semble favoriser la réalisation de soi, une aspiration vers l’émancipation. La fugue représente une manière de répondre à des besoins non comblés tels que l’autonomie, la liberté ou l’expérimentation. Elle peut être également une manière d’exprimer de la révolte ou de l’opposition face à l’autorité des adultes, ou encore une demande d’aide. Elle est aussi parfois une façon de fuir une situation considérée comme sans issue.

Ressources utiles pour éviter une fugue

Programme CAFE (crise-ado-famille-enfant)

Pour obtenir de l’information, communiquez avec le CLSC ou centre Jeunesse de votre région, ou appelez Info-Santé au 811.

CLSC du Centre-de-la-Mauricie
1082, rue Sainte-Hélène
Shawinigan (Québec)
G9N 0E6
819-539-8371
CLSC de Trois-Rivières (Centre Saint-Joseph)
731 rue Sainte-Julie
Trois-Rivières (Québec)
G9A 1Y1
819-370-2100
Direction de la protection de la jeunesse (DPJ) de la Mauricie et du Centre-du-Québec
Par téléphone : 1 800 567-8520
Par courriel: urgence.sociale@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

1-855- JE FUGUE ou (1-855-533-8483)
Ligne sans frais et anonyme pour laisser un message à tes proches. Dis-nous que tu es en sécurité. Aucune question n’est posée